Fralin talks about pick-ups

本文由 Jeff2002-04-01 發表於 "吉他精華" 討論區

1. Jeff

Jeff 吉他版主

註冊日期:
    2001-09-01
    文章:
    讚:
    下面文字出自 Guitar Player 雜誌 1994 年四月號 "In Search Of The Vintage Grail" Pickup designers speak out 一文:
    ========================================

LINDY FRALIN:

I'm not an engineer, and I don't even know what half the electrical terms mean. My pickups are just copies of pre-CBS Fenders. I don't know if Leo Fender hit on some of these things by accident or he was that good. Maybe he had everything planned.

I've peeled pre-CBS Fender Strat pickups and noticed how the windings were randomly layered. That's why some old Fenders are dark and loud and others are bright and jangly. The same goes for patent-applied-for Gibsons. The hand layering with a different amount of turns throughout the coil is what I believe is different about those old pickups. When I wind coils there might be a section with 100 turns of wire per layer and another with 50 turns. This is how the old ones were made, and that's all we do. I make one model of Strat pickup, and we'll make any variation that somebody wants. You can have it left-handed, magnets staggered out the bottom, any of the three reverse-wound, or really hot. By using thinner wire, we can get a thousand more turns for a hotter output. More turns also equals more mids and dirt, with less highs and bottom. Leo Fender knew exactly how many turns he could get away without humping up the midrange. If you add any extra, you start to get a very thick and dirty-sounding pickup which can be cool for the bridge position.